Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Call of Duty Multiplayer thoughts (Marble)

The highly-addictive, fast-paced multiplayer has been praised for years now. What makes this multiplayer so great? Well first it's based on your skill and finding targets, and how good your reaction time is. Next it has a great leveling system where you can level up your character, guns, even your knife. The constant action and placement into battle really makes for a great multiplayer. Now here are some downers (and theres a lot of them). You have no real defense other than your offense. You finally do good and you're almost to the K9 Unit, what do you do? Run back and camp, because you stand a good chance of dying. The game is if you see the other person first, you win, which is really disappointing. You start with OK guns, but all the guns towards the higher level just dominate, so your meek guns that you start with almost feel pointless a lot of the time. I know that you should get more benefits than those a lower level, but not enough to make lower levels pointless. Next, the guns are just so unbalanced. I love the Peacekeeper in Blops 2. Why? Because it's just way too powerful that everyone uses it, why use anything else? There is also no real strategy. Charge the battlefield with everything you would ever need, and either camp, or run forward dodging cover to cover and die. It's so boring because the guns are too accurate. Look at Halo where there is a health (shielding) system. You have that opportunity to run, or turn and fight, and then it comes down to who has more skill, who had a plan and got the better gun, is there cover, there are so many things that you can take in there. Call of Duty = Dead. I will admit I have been playing Blops 2 multiplayer instead of getting to my Dead Space 3 reviewing done, but thats between me and my friend and we really just play it because it's funny to listen to eachother rage. It's really disappointing to me that this multiplayer has stayed the same, and there's still nothing to it but drop shotters, RPG noob tubes since noob tubing is gone, and those of us that try to play. I play it, but I recommend you spend your ours on Halo, Battlefield, Dead Space, some other multiplayer with a variety. 

No comments:

Post a Comment